SUMMER INTERNATIONAL

TALAMARANG

NEPAL

PLACE
TALAMARANG, NEPAL
PERIOD
2015
PARTNERS
HANDS WITH HANDS
WORK AREA
MORE THAN SHELTERS
TYPE
INTERVENTION
STATUS
COMPLETED

  A MULTI-DISCIPLINARY PROCESS

Posters_Talamarang_WEB.jpg

TASK

Development and implementation of a concept to accommodate and educate children and young people from remote mountain villages after the earthquake of 2015.

DESCRIPTION

SOLUTION

Construction of a temporary boarding school in the central town of Talamarang.

IMPACT

Protection and learning opportunities for around 120 students, including 24-hour supervision.

10830819_1677208052502917_60408826028377

In almost all villages in the Talamarang region in Nepal, schools were completely destroyed by the 2015 earthquake. Lessons could no longer take place and kids could not continue to receive an education. MTS was asked to rebuild a temporary school for one of the villages. In the discussions with local authorities, it became clear that this would only be a small help, as there were at least 30 other broken schools in the vicinity.

 

Another problem was that the children along with the schools had also lost their care and therefore had to be looked after by their families, even though almost all parental homes had been destroyed and at the same time the vital harvest had to be brought in.

 

In further co-design sessions, the project was rethought by MTS and it was decided to build a temporary boarding school in the central valley, where the children from the surrounding villages would spend the next few months in order to go to school again and all this in one safe environment and around the clock support. In the meantime, the parents were able to start rebuilding and bring in the harvest.

 

The summer boarding school was reached on a rice field within a week and offered more than 200 children protection and security.

THE WHOLE STORY

1/9

If you are interested or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

 LET'S TALK

Gottschedstraße 4

13357 Berlin

T: +49-30-95624929

M: info@mts-socialdesign.com

SOMMERINTERNAT

TALAMARANG

NEPAL

ORT
TALAMARANG, NEPAL
ZEITRAUM
2015
PARTNER*IN
HANDS WITH HANDS
ARBEITSFELD
MORE THAN SHELTERS
TYP
INTERVENTION
STATUS
ABGESCHLOSSEN

  DETAILS

Posters_Talamarang_WEB.jpg

  AUFGABE  

Entwicklung und Umsetzung eines Konzeptes, um Kinder und Jugendliche aus entlegenen Bergdörfern nach den Erdbeben von 2015 unterzubringen und zu beschulen.

  BESCHREIBUNG

  LÖSUNG  

Aufbau eines temporären Internats im zentralen Ort Talamarang.

  WIRKUNG 

Schutz und Lernmöglichkeit für ca. 120 Schüler*innen inklusive 24h Betreuung.

10830819_1677208052502917_60408826028377

In fast allen Dörfern der Region Talamarang in Nepal waren die Schulen komplett durch die Erdbeben von 2015 zerstört. Es konnte kein Unterricht mehr stattfinden. MTS wurde gebeten für ein Dorf eine temporäre Schule wieder aufzubauen. In den Diskussionen mit lokalen Verantwortlichen wurde deutlich, dass dies nur eine kleine Hilfe sein würde, da im Umkreis mindestens 30 weitere Schulen zertrümmert waren.

Ein weiteres Problem war, dass die Kinder mit den Schulen auch ihre Betreuung verloren hatten und somit bei ihren Familien betreut werden mussten, obwohl fast alle Elternhäuser zerstört worden waren und gleichzeitig die überlebenswichtige Ernte eingebracht werden musste.

In weiteren Ko-Design Sessions wurde das Projekt von MTS neu gedacht. Es wurde entschieden im zentralen Tal ein temporäres Internat zu errichten, wo die Kinder aus den umliegenden Dörfern die nächsten Monate verbringen würden, um dort wieder zur Schule zu gehen und zugleich in einer sicheren Umgebung rund um die Uhr betreut zu werden. Die Eltern konnten in der Zwischenzeit mit dem Wiederaufbau beginnen und die Ernte einbringen.

Das Sommerinternat wurde auf einem Reisfeld innerhalb einer Woche errichtet und bot mehr als 200 Kindern Schutz und Geborgenheit.

  DIE KOMPLETTE GESCHICHTE

1/9

Bei Interesse und Fragen kommen Sie gerne jederzeit auf uns zu.

   LET'S TALK  

Gottschedstraße 4

13357 Berlin

T: +49-30-95624929

M: info@mts-socialdesign.com