SOCIAL DESIGN LAB

LOCATION
MUNICH
YEAR
SINCE 2018
CLIENT
HANS SAUER FOUNDATION, MUNICH
FIELD OF WORK
MULTIFOLD TRANSFORMATIONS
TYPE
TRANSFORMATION
STATUS
IN PROCESS
LINK

  A MULTI-DISCIPLINARY PROCESS

Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-04 um 13.27.09.pn

TASK

Development and establishment of a new institution. Strategic and operational implementation of model projects.

DESCRIPTION

SOLUTION

Development of a methodology of social design with a process model, an effectiveness model and a transformation model and its operational implementation in model projects.

IMPACT

Basic research and development on transformative social design processes. Systemic and inspirational effect for social design projects worldwide. Building a field on the topic.

Bildschirmfoto 2020-12-04 um 13.38.11.pn

THE WHOLE STORY

In 2018, the Hans Sauer Foundation founded the "Social Design Lab" with the help of an IKEA Foundation grant, in cooperation with morethanshelters . This enabled the foundation to bring over its scientific trends, practices, and experiences from its own work to a new context and new conceptual framework.

 

The Social Design Lab uses the social design approach to solve social challenges. This means that methods and practices from design, the social sciences, and other disciplines and departments are consistently used to solve societal challenges. In the understanding and practice of the lab, this means, among other things, that solutions are engineered in a participatory, iterative, open-ended, and bottom-up manner. Research, practitioners, and the people affected are brought together to gradually and collectively work on new models and solutions “from bottom-up”.

 

These solutions are then practically tested for their impacts and effects. In this way, social change and innovation processes that people actively shaped are not only initiated, but - so the hope is - also widely and sustainably supported. For this purpose, a separate process model and portfolio of methods was developed along with an interdisciplinary lab team, in which design, the humanities, and social sciences are represented.

 

Why is the social design lab called “Lab”? In contrast to a scientific research laboratory, the lab is anything but an enclosed space, and yet it is a field for experimentation -without being specifically located. The lab can and should take place anywhere, and as close as possible to the social context in which the project is taking place. The lab work follows principles that are essential for social design processes: the lab principles.

 

Participation: The activating, empowering and co-creative inclusion of all actors, especially those affected by the respective social grievances in every project phase, is a central principle of the work of the social design lab.

 

Transdisciplinarity: Working across professional and social boundaries, integrating diverse knowledge, and a wide variety of skills is another central principle of the social design lab.

 

Design and innovation: The social design lab focuses on design in the sense of a creative, adaptable, and better future-oriented development of solutions. It projects the notion of Innovation, understood as the dissemination of these new solutions in society.

1/1

 LET'S TALK

If you are interested or have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Gottschedstraße 4

13357 Berlin

T: +49-30-95624929

M: info@mts-socialdesign.com

SOCIAL DESIGN LAB

ORT
MÜNCHEN
ZEITRAUM
SEIT 2018
AUFTRAGGEBERIN
HANS SAUER STIFTUNG
ARBEITSFELD
MUTIGE TRANSFORMATIONEN
TYP
TRANSFORMATION
STATUS
IM GANGE
LINK

  DETAILS

  AUFGABE  

Entwicklung und Aufbau einer neuen Institution. Strategische und operative Umsetzung von Modellprojekten.

  BESCHREIBUNG

  LÖSUNG  

Entwicklung einer Methodologie des Social Designs mit einem Prozessmodell, einem Wirksamkeitsmodell und einem Transformationsmodell und dessen operative Umsetzung in Modellprojekten.

  WIRKUNG 

Grundlagenforschung und Entwicklung zu transformativen Social Design Prozessen. Systemische und inspirative Wirkung für Social Design Projekte weltweit. Aufbau eines Feldes zum Thema.

  DIE KOMPLETTE GESCHICHTE

Im Jahr 2018 gründete die Hans Sauer Stiftung mithilfe einer Förderung der IKEA Stiftung in Kooperation mit MORE THAN SHELTERS das „social design lab“. Damit konnte die Stiftung Trends aus Wissenschaft und Praxis sowie Erfahrungen der eigenen Projektarbeit unter ein neues Dach und in ein neues konzeptionelles Gerüst bringen. 

Das social design lab bedient sich zur Lösung gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen der Herangehensweise des Social Designs. Das bedeutet, dass Methoden und Praktiken aus dem Design, den Sozialwissenschaften und anderen Disziplinen und Fachbereichen konsequent zur Lösung gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen nutzbar gemacht werden. Im Verständnis und der Praxis des Labs heißt das unter anderem, dass partizipativ, iterativ, ergebnisoffen und „bottom-up“ an Lösungen gearbeitet wird. Forschung, Praxisakteur*innen und die jeweils betroffenen Menschen werden zusammengebracht, um dann schrittweise und gemeinschaftlich an neuen Modellen, an Lösungen „von unten“ zu arbeiten.

Diese werden praktisch auf ihre Wirkungen und  Effekte hin erprobt. So werden gesellschaftliche Veränderungs- und Innovationsprozesse angestoßen, die von den Menschen aktiv mitgestaltet und – so die Hoffnung – auch breit und nachhaltig weitergetragen werden. Dafür wurde ein eigenes Prozessmodell und Methodenportfolio entwickelt und ein interdisziplinäres Lab-Team aufgebaut, in dem sowohl das Design als auch die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften vertreten sind.

Warum nennt sich das social design lab „Lab“? Im Gegensatz zu einem wissenschaftlichen Forschungslabor ist das Lab alles andere als ein abgeschlossener Raum. Und trotzdem ist es ein Experimentierfeld – allerdings ohne konkret verortet zu sein. Das Lab kann und soll überall stattfinden und das möglichst nah an dem gesellschaftlichen Kontext, in dem das Projekt eingebettet ist. Dabei folgt die Lab-Arbeit Grundsätzen, die für Social Design-Prozesse essentiell sind: den Lab-Prinzipien.

Partizipation: Der aktivierende, befähigende und ko-kreative Einbezug aller Akteur*innen – insbesondere der vom jeweiligen gesellschaftlichen Missstand Betroffenen – in jeder Projektphase ist ein zentrales Prinzip der Arbeit des social design lab.

Transdisziplinarität: Die Arbeit über fachliche und soziale Grenzen hinweg, die Integration vielfältigen Wissens und unterschiedlichster Fertigkeiten ist ein weiteres zentrales Prinzip des social design lab.

Gestaltung und Innovation: Das social design lab setzt auf Gestaltung im Sinne einer kreativen, auf Anpassungsfähigkeit und bessere Zukünfte gerichteten Entwicklung von Lösungen; und auf Innovation, verstanden als die Verbreitung dieser neuen Lösungen in der Gesellschaft.

(Text: Hans Sauer Stiftung)

1/1

   LET'S TALK  

Bei Interesse und Fragen kommen Sie gerne jederzeit auf uns zu.

Gottschedstraße 4

13357 Berlin

T: +49-30-95624929

M: info@mts-socialdesign.com